Srinivasan set to be re-elected as BCCI president

Kolkata, Sept.28 : Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president N.Srinivasan has been nominated to serve a second consecutive term as chief, and is all set to head the body again unapposed after cricket associations in the South Zone unanimously voted in his favour.

However, a revolt seems to be in the offing, with three BCCI vice-presidents - Arun Jaitley, Niranjan Shah and Sudhir Dabir choosing not to file their nominations.

The BCCI's 84th Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held at the ITC Park Sheraton hotel in Chennai at 11 a.m. on Sunday.

The deadline for the filing of the nominations for all posts is 4 p.m. on September 28.

In case there are multiple candidates for one post, 31 votes will decide the winner. The voters include a representative from each of its 27 affiliates along with that from the Cricket Club of India in Mumbai, National Cricket Club in Kolkata, All India Universities and the president's vote, a special prerogative for the incumbent BCCI president who presides over the meeting.

Anurag Thakur (Himachal Pradesh) is likely to continue as the joint secretary while all the zonal associations will discuss their respective zone's candidate for the post of vice-president, one from each zone.

Since the AGM also appoints all the BCCI committees, including the IPL governing council, marketing committee, finance committee and junior and senior selection committees, a reshuffle is on the cards.

Ranjib Biswal is set to continue as the National Cricket Academy (NCA) board chairman. A new NCA director, a post that has been vacant for a year, is also expected to be announced.
The senior selection committee, comprising chairman Sandeep Patil (West), Saba Karim (East), Roger Binny (South), Vikram Rathour (North) and Rajinder Singh Hans (Central) is set to be unchanged.

As for the junior selection committee, headed by Mumbai's Chandrakant Pandit, Kerala's K Jayaraman is set to be replaced with a member from Andhra Cricket Association since the South Zone units usually employ a rotational policy while nominating candidates for the junior selection panel.

A new chairman of the IPL governing council is also expected to be announced in the wake of Rajiv Shukla refusing to reconsider taking back his resignation.

The AGM, will in all likelihood, also spell out a roadmap for all the affiliated units to deal with their respective state governments about the double taxation policy adopted by the government.

India's tour to South Africa is likely to be discussed, so are the venues for the two home Tests against West Indies starting November.

--ANI (Posted on 29-09-2013)

cricket-news headlines

Sachin Tendulkar turns 41 today

Royal Challengers opt to field against Knight Riders

CSA appoints Jennings replacement for Proteas' Under-19 head coach

Rashid Latif insists PCB 'cold-shouldered' him due to England pressure

Ex-Pak captain Saleem Malik slams PCB for refusing to review life ban

PCB considering proposal to appoint Ahmed Shehzad as new Pak T20 captain

Tendulkar celebrates 41st birthday by voting

Ex-skipper Ali Bacher backs De Villiers to be appointed new Proteas' Test captain

Don't underestimate the power of your vote: Sachin Tendulkar

Super Kings score 140/6 against Royals

Rajasthan Royals elect to field against Super Kings

IPL: All-round Kings XI Punjab register easy victory

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top