Hockey: IOCL, IOB in title round

Chennai, Sep 21 : Last year's joint winners Indian Oil Corporation Ltd overcame Bharat Petroleum 6-4 to set up a title clash with local challengers Indian Overseas Bank, who defeated Punjab National Bank 5-2 in the semi-finals of the 88th All-India MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup hockey tournament here Saturday.

In an exciting first semi-final, IOCL turned back a 1-3 deficit with a second-half blitz with penalty corner specialist Raghunath coming up with three conversions, two of them after the change of ends besides flicking home a penalty stroke.

Later, IOB surprised fancied PNB 5-2 to set up a repeat clash with IOCL in the final Sunday. The two finalists had met in the league when IOCL came through 3-1.

BPCL took an early lead when Sher Singh found the target in the third minute, but Raghunath equalized for IOCL in the 12th with the first of his four penalty corner conversions.

BPCL then struck twice more before half-time through Gurpreet Singh (21st) and Pundalik Bellary (23rd) for a 3-1 lead at the breather.

The complexion of the game changed on resumption as Roshan Minz (42nd) kept IOCL in the hunt only to see Hari Prasad give BPCL a 4-2 advantage with a 53rd minute strike.

IOCL stepped up the pressure and Raghunath converted a penalty corner in the 55th and then came good with a penalty stroke in the 58th to tie the scores at 4-all.

Past the 60th, Raghunath converted his third penalty corner to put IOCL 5-4 ahead and in the last minute, Dharmavir made it 6-4.

Later, in a rain-delayed game, IOB went ahead in the 19th minute through an own goal that came as a bad omen for PNB.

After crossing over leading 1-0, IOB struck twice as former international Adam Sinclair (42nd) and Vinod Rayaer (58th) found the mark, but Arjun (60th) pulled one back for PNB to set up an intriguing finish.

IOB virtually sealed the game when Shanmugam (66th) and Rayaer (67th) struck decisive blows for a 5-1 lead. PNB narrowed the deficit with a 69th minute goal from Damandeep.

--IANS (Posted on 21-09-2013)

sports-india-news headlines

Javia rallies to enter U-12 tennis semis

Kings XI Punjab rearing to go with 14 sponsors on board this year!

Tata Motors Prima is title sponsor for Kings XI Punjab

Mumbai to face Pune in final of BoI Zonal Cricket

Shillong Lajong FC fans to vote for new jensey

Countdown to the Airtel I-League

Hindustan FC qualified to the final Round of the U-19 I-League

Bengaluru FC on the verge of scripting I-League history

Baichung Bhutia hopes to have the last laugh in Darjeeling

Pakistan name hockey coaches for senior, junior teams

Golf: Rohit captures Tata Sub-Junior title

Churchill Brothers keep alive survival hopes

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top