Greater Noida, Sep 15 IANS | 2 years ago

K. Rajini Krishnan ended with a win and runners-up place in the third round of the Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the Buddh International Circuit (BIC) here Sunday.

It was the first time bike racing happened at BIC and included leading manufacturers like Honda, Yamaha and TVS.

The CBR 250R race once again was highlight of the day with all seven riders in a position to win. There was frantic trading of places for the entire six laps.

Sarath Kumar, who started on pole, lost out at the start to Race 1 winner Rajini.

Rajini led for the first two laps with Sarath, Sumit Lucas Toppo, Harshit Rao, A. Prabhu all following. Prabhu and Sarath took over the lead for a while before Rajini was back in front.

Heading into the last lap, Rajini led followed by Prabhu and Sarath. As they came out of the last corner, Prabhu and Sarath collided with both crashing out of the race. Rajini held on for another great win with Sumit finishing in second and Harshit Rao third.

First race of the day saw the TVS-Apache RTR180 in action and Mathana Kumar took the honours with another convincing win to complete a perfect weekend for the young rider.

The battle for second was a five-way scrap with Ananth Raj finishing in second just ahead of SK. Prakash. Arvind Ganesh finished in fourth position ahead of Mizoram rider B. Lalrutsanga.

The Yamaha-Y2F R15 class saw Arun Muthukrishnan crossing the finish line ahead of Ramesh by a mere 0.448 seconds. Race 1 winner Shyam Shankar finished thirdrd ahead of Vivek Pillai. The difference in time between third and seventh position was three tenths off a second.

(Posted on 15-09-2013)