0 teams for Murugappa hockey tournament

Chennai, Sep 10 : Ten teams, including last year's joint winners Indian Oil Corporation and Air India, will participate in the 88th MCC-Murugappa Gold Cup hockey tournament that will be held at the Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium here from Sept 12 to 22.

The teams have been divided into two pools of five for the preliminary league with the top two teams from each pool advancing to the knock-out stage.

The pools are:

Pool A: Indian Oil Corporation, Southern Railway, Army XI, Comproller and Auditor General of India, Indian Overseas Bank.

Pool B: Air India, Bharat Petroleum, Punjab National Bank, Steel Authority of India and Indian Bank.

The prize-money for the tournament remains at Rs.250,000 for the winners and Rs.150,000 for the runners-up. Mohamed Muneer will officiate as the tournament director.

--IANS (Posted on 10-09-2013)

sports-india-news headlines

Arvind Bhat out of New Zealand Open

Holders Churchill Brothers looking to survive relegation

I-L: Pune FC looking for payback; host East Bengal

Bibek Sardar takes narrow lead at Golmuri Juniors

I-League: Pune FC keen to break jinx against East Bengal

Javia to clash with Boopathy in U-12 tennis meet final

Indian women beat Ireland 2-1

Indian men go down 2-4 to Netherlands

'Sports can empower women'

Shuttler Srikanth rises to World No.16

Pune FC Jersey give fans chance to pick design

Javia rallies to enter U-12 tennis semis

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top