New Delhi, Aug 30 IBNS | 2 years ago

President Pranab Mukherjee will confer the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Dronacharya Awards,Arjuna Awards, Dhyan Chand Awards and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar during a special function at Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi on Saturday.

The ceremony will be held at 6 pm.

Indian shooter Ronjon Sodhi will receive the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.

Apart from a medal and a citation, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee will receive a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh. Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, citations and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies.

(Posted on 31-08-2013)