Hariprasad elected to Rajya Sabha from Karnataka

Bangalore, Aug 22 : Congress general secretary B.K. Hariprasad was Thursday elected to the Rajya Sabha unopposed from Karnataka.

Assembly secretary and returning officer P. Omprakash announced Hariprasad's election after the expiry of the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

The Congress leader from Karnataka was the only one in the fray. The Janata Dal-Secular and the Bharatiya Janata Party did not field anyone as they have only 40 members each in the 225-seat assembly.

The Congress has 122 members. The remaining are from smaller parties and independents.

Though two independents filed nominations, they were rejected as they were not supported by 10 assembly members as required by law.

The bypoll followed the resignation of Congress Rajya Sabha member Anil Lad after he got elected to the Karnataka assembly in May.

--IANS (Posted on 22-08-2013)

karnataka-news headlines

Six dead in Karnataka after tourist bus catches fire

CEO expects more than 72% polling in Karnataka on Apr 17

Dissapointed farmers threaten to use NOTA option in LS polls

11 dead, 36 injured in Karnataka mishaps

Extra vigil for elephant attacks in view of LS polls

All out campaign by Cong to regain Chikkodi seat in Karnataka

Karnataka to vote Thursday for all 28 Lok Sabha seats

Six die in Karnataka bus disaster

Anti-Ananth Kumar wave in Bangalore: Nandan Nilekani

Bangalore: Bus catches fire; 6 dead

Six killed in Karnataka bus fire

Bangalore Baptist hopsital wins quality award

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top