Nayan, Kush, Pradyumna win round 3

Coimbatore, Aug 18 : Nayan Chatterjee of Rayo Racing (Senior Max), Kush Maini of Dark Don Racing (Junior Max) and Pradyumna Vipul Danigund of Mohite's Racing (Micro Max) won Round 3 of the JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Max Karting Championship 2013 at Kari Motor Speedway here Sunday.

The championship's 36 racers in three categories namely Micro Max (7 to 12 years), Junior Max (13 to 16 years) and Senior Max (15 and above) competed at Kari Motor Speedway - the fastest karting track in India and displayed their excellent driving skills.

In the Senior Max category, Nayan won the toughest race of the Round after beating top racers such as defending champion Ameya Bafna of Rayo Racing and Vishnu Prasad of Meco Racing.

With this victory, Nayan toppled Vishnu in the championship table with 255 pts, just one point ahead of Vishnu (254 pts). Ameya Bafna is at third position with 244 pts.

In the Junior Max, Kush Maini of Dark Don Racing dominated both Final and Pre-Final races and was way ahead of rest of the karters.

In the Final race, Kush took the early lead and maintained the lead till the chequered flag. He was chased by Krishnaraaj D Mahadik of Mohite's Racing, who attacked Kush in last few laps but Kush handled the pressure well and didn't allow him to overtake.

The real battle was for the third position, where Tejasram, Abhirath Shetty, Akash Gowda (all from Meco Racing), Arya Chirag Gandhi (Rayo Racing) and Ananth Shanmugam (Meco Racing) were fighting neck-to-neck.

Tejasram was leading the pack for couple of laps but an unfortunate incident changed the positions of all the racers. Abhirath's kart broke down in the middle of the race, which gave opportunity to Arya Chirag and Ananth to topple two front racers - Tejasram and Akash - and both claimed 3rd and 4th positions respectively.

Defending champion Pradyumna V Danigond of Mohite's Racing won Final and Pre-Final Race of the Round 3 in Micro Max category and maintained his lead in the championship table.

--IANS (Posted on 18-08-2013)

sports-india-news headlines

United SC safe from I-League relegation

Golf: Bibek Sardar captures Golmuri Juniors Title

Pune FC go down 1-2 to East Bengal

India lose to Netherlands 1-2

Indian driver Chandhok and team qualify third

Armaan Ebrahim set for GT World Series

India draw with Ireland, win series 2-0

U-12 tennis: Double for Boopathy, Richa

TTFI hires North Korean coaches to train youngsters

Lahiri picks up valuable lessons at Malaysian Open

Arvind Bhat out of New Zealand Open

Holders Churchill Brothers looking to survive relegation

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top