Lok Sabha Speaker confers second National Photo Awards

New Delhi, Mar. 28 : The second National Photo Awards- 2011-12 were conferred today by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar to eminent photojournalists at a function held in Vigyan Bhavan.

The Life-Time Achievement Awards were given to eminent photographers Pranlal Patel, T.S. Nagarajan and T.N.A. Perumal.

The Lok Sabha Speaker in her address said the Division through its initiatives had engaged in documentation, production and preservation of photographs through its news photo network, it had converted its conventional images into the digital format.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Manish Tewari speaking on the occasion said that recognizing the technological advancements in the field of photography, Photo Division had adapted itself to the present-day digital revolution and had begun modernizing its equipment and programmes under Plan Scheme, functional efficacy accordingly.

Tewari further said that the initiative of the Photo Division in encouraging other organizations particularly the State Information Departments to initiate the process of Digitization and the Digital Management of the Photographic Images was an important step in mainstreaming the role and relevance of photography in the communication landscape. He added that the endeavour of the Division to obtain very old archival images from different parts of country had enabled the Unit to obtain valuable photographs from the period 1880 onwards.

Lauding the award winners, Tewari said the function was a celebration of life to honour the stalwarts of the Indian photographic movement. Each of them had contributed innovatively in presenting the essence of life, the visual portrayal of India as a nation during the course of history. Their works also reflected the dynamic socio cultural ethos of the country in the realm of change and how photography had touched the pulse of the common man in day-to-day life.

The profile of the Life Time Achievement Award Winners is stated below:

Pranlal Patel, 104 years of age, has been the primary school teacher, who was inclined to photography as an amateur photographer but gradually the passion turned into profession. He captured the memories of our struggle for independence through his photographs. His pictures celebrate the glory of black and white. His photographs are not merely a collection of unmatched skills but also repository of social and historical values of time.

The second recipient T.S. Nagarajan is an eminent photojournalist whose works have been exhibited and published widely in India and abroad. He has held exhibitions of his works all over the world, including the Museum of Modern Art, Oxford, in 1982. He is a specialist in black and white photography, and has won several awards including the PATA Gold Award in 1987. He has illustrated a book 'This India, a book for children, in addition to editing a number of picture books. He has written two books 'A Pearl of Water on a Lotus Leaf...', a memoir, and 'Self-Portrait: The Story of My Life', his autobiography.

The third recipient, T.N.A. Perumal is the doyen of wildlife photography in India. He embraced bird photography as passionate profession in 1960 and was awarded the artiste FIAP in Nature Photography in 1963 and Excellence FIAP in 1968. He won associateship of Royal Phographic Society of United Kingdom in 1977 and Fellowship of Royal Phographic Society of United Kingdom in 1978 and Master photographer of the Federation del'Art photographique of France in 1983. He is recognised as the father of India Photography. He is a member of Mysore Photographic Society and life member of Federation of Indian Photography. He has more than 1500 acceptances in national and international salons and has over 200 awards and merit certificates to his credit.

In the Professional Category, the 'Best Professional Photographer of the Year 2011-12' has been given to Salil Bera, who has earned fame in the field of wildlife photography. Bera has a long experience of working with reputed newspapers and magazines like Hindustan Times, Kalantar, Statesman and The Week. He has also won Honorary mention at UNEP Photo Competition in Japan in 2005.

The award of 'Professional Photographer of the Year 2011-12 on Green India: Environmental Stories' has been given to Pankaj Sharma, who is among a few in India, who have been honoured with Associateship of India International Photographic Council, New Delhi and Fellowship of Federation of Indian Photography, Kolkata.

The award of 'Professional Photographer of the Year 2011-12 on 'Open Category' was given to Anil Risal Singh. He was also conferred Associateship of the Royal Photographic Society of Britain in 1991, Master Federation Internationale de L-Art Photographique by Federation Internale de L-Art Photographique, France and Charles Wallace Professional grant to visit UK to study photographic collection in different museums in UK in 1999.

Special Mention Awards (Professional) have also been given to Shri Anand Patel, Atul Choubey, Shib Narayan Acharya, Kailash Soni, Vinod Gajjar, Chetan Soni, Dilip Lokre, Kailash Mittal, Sanat Kumar Sinha and Shankar Mandal Mondal.

In the Amateur Category, the 'Best Amateur Photographer of the Year 2011-12' has been given to Subhash Jirange, an Accounts Officer with the Government of Maharashtra, who has developed penchant for photography in his early age. He has life membership of Photographic Society of India and Fellowship by Federation of Indian Photography, Kolkata and Associate of Photographic Society of India, Mumbai.

'The Best Amateur Photographer of the Year 2011-12 on Life and Landscape of India' was given to Sudip Roychoudhury, who started shooting photos as an amateur in his high school days and received honour EFIAP from Federation International de l'Art photographique, France in 2010, AIIPC from India International Photographic Council, New Delhi in 2007 and FFIP from Federation of Indian Photography in 2005.

'The Best Amateur Photographer of the Year 2011-12 on Fine Arts' was given to Debashish Ghosh Ray, who started photography in 1983 and grew up to be pictorial and creative photographer. He was honoured with the excellence of FIAP by the Federation International de-la-Art Photographic, Belgium and Associate of Royal Photographic Society of Great Britain and Fellow of Federation of Indian Photography. His award winning photographs have been placed in the album of National Federation of Hungary and International Exchange of photographs organised by FIAP.

Special Mention Awards (Amateur) category have also been given to Asis Kumar Sanyal, Joydeep Mukherjee, Manish Bhatnagar, Debashis Tarafder, Sirsendu Gayen, Subhrajit Basu, Dhrumil Desai, Subir Kumar Dutta, Ganesh Shankar and Rajesh Joshi.

--ANI (Posted on 28-03-2013)

india-news headlines

Big business and election: Time to decouple the two (Election Special)

Toxic waste spill at Essar's Power Plant in Singrauli

Rahul continues attack on Modi's 'toffee' model in Agra

DU students, youth pitch for women rights

Come out with solution to check rioting in juvenile homes, police told

TII meet witnesses political parties discuss ways to weed out corruption from society

Varun warns Priyanka, says decency should not be taken as weakness

Congress workers protest outside Swamy's residence over his tweet calling Priyanka 'alcoholic'

CII expresses concern over disallowing electricity sale through open access by Gujarat and Karnataka

Reliance a 'parallel state' in country: Gopal Gandhi

Supreme Court declines to stay defamation case against Kejriwal, others

Manmohan Singh super PM: Priyanka Gandhi

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top