Somnath, Baichung to be honoured

Kolkata, June 12 : Former Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee would be honoured with lifetime achievement award for public service and former India captain Baichung Bhutia and painter Washim Kapoor are among ten others to receive achiever awards at the 20th annual award function of Bharat Nirman in the city on June 15.

Four institutional awards would go to ITC Sangeet Research Academy (propagation of Indian classical music), AHEAD ( rehabilitation of autistic and mentally challenged children), Purwanchal Nagrik Samity (social services), and MSBT Dance Insitution " Udayan" (India dance), in the award function to be held at Kalamandir, according to Bharati Nirman chairman Ashok Kalanauria while releasing a list of recipients.

Other recipients for Achiever awards are actor Rachana Banerjee for cinema, Abhishek Dutta for fashion designing, Ruchika Mehta for journalism, Somi Gupta for beauty therapy, Ruprekha Banerjee for music and singing, Dinesh Jha for financial services, Vir Bala Agarwal for mass communication, and Dr Vivekananda Chakraborty in education.

The best couple awrard for the year would go to Indraneil Sengupta and Barkha Bisht Sengupta in acting, cinema and television.

Bharat Nirman inspired by late Indira Gandhi (Ex-Prime Minister of India) and was established by Lt. M. C. Bhandari in 1980 honors people, who help revive all ancient Indian sciences and propagate Indian way of life, culture and development.

--IBNS (Posted on 12-06-2013)

sports-india-news headlines

Pakistan name hockey coaches for senior, junior teams

Golf: Rohit captures Tata Sub-Junior title

Churchill Brothers keep alive survival hopes

U-12 tennis: Arjun, Prasanna among last eight

Break helped Anand for Candidates Tournament

Indian women beat Ireland 3-1

Indian men lose 1-2 to Belgium

Rajasthan Royals in assoication with KOOH sports launches first cricket academy in Hyderabad

All-round display by Prashant helps Salwan win

India receive $ 265,500 for third spot in Reliance Test Team

Salgaocar & Sporting Clube draw their I-league encounter

Rohit Kumar seizes lead at Tata IGU

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top