Indian Badminton League Aug 14-31

New Delhi, May 8 : The much awaited lucrative Indian Badminton League (IBL), which offers a prize purse of USD 1 million, will be held across six major Indian cities Aug 14-31.

The finals will be held in Mumbai Aug 31 while Hyderabad and Bangalore will get to host the semi-finals.

New Delhi will host the grand opening ceremony of the IBL, featuring international and national star-cast, Aug 13, followed by the first round rubbers slated for Aug 14-15.

The six franchise-based city teams featuring in the first edition of the IBL are: Hyderabad HotShots (Hyderabad), Rajdhani Smashers (Delhi), Mumbai Masters (Mumbai), Karnataka Kings (Bangalore), Pune Vijetas (Pune) and Lucknow Warriors (Lucknow).

Badminton Association of India (BAI) president Akhilesh Das Gupta said Wednesday: "The preparations for the Indian Badminton League are in full swing. I'm confident the IBL Opening Ceremony will be a breathtaking extravaganza with the whole world watching it live."

--IANS (Posted on 08-05-2013)

sports-india-news headlines

AFC Cup: Pune down group-leaders Kitchee SC 2-0

Chitra bags World senior snooker title

Four Indians in senior world tennis

4 budding Hyd paddlers in national camp

AIFF congratulates Bengaluru FC on winning the I-league

Month-long Chess Tournament to begin in Sangli from May 1

I-League: Number of firsts for Bengaluru FC

Bengaluru FC are I-League champions

Harendra Singh appointed as coach of junior Indian team

Bengaluru FC are the I-League champions

AFC: Pune to host Hong Kong champions Kitchee SC

"We could have gone for the moon"

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top