All Lusofone countries confirm participation

By John Edwards, Panaji, Jan 13 : The Lusofonia Games Organising Committee (LUGOC) has received entries from all countries of ACOLOP (Association of Portuguese Speaking Olympic Committee) for the prestigious international sporting event scheduled to be held from Jan 18 to Jan 29.

Goa, in its new character will play host to 739 athletes from the 12 participating countries.

CEO Lusofonia Games Keshav Chandra said India leads the participating nations with a total contingent strength of 200 athletes followed by Macau (China) with 112 athletes, Angola (75), Mozambique (80), Sri Lanka (64), Portugal (56), Sao Tome and Principe (35), Cape Verde (35), Guinea Bissau (29), East Timor (26), Equatorial Guinea (20) and Brazil (7).

From among the disciplines, athletics will be a major draw with a total participation of 174 athletes with participation from 11 participating countries.

India has the largest contingent with 40 male and 38 female athletes.

Chandra said that athletes from the 12 nations will compete in 9 different sporting disciplines - Athletics, Basketball, Beach Volleyball, Football, Judo, Table Tennis, Taekwondo, Volleyball and Wushu.

Beach Volleyball will see 10 countries participate in the action packed sport.

A temporary but state-of-the-art beach volleyball arena is being erected on the shores of the famous Miramar beach which will host the sport.

A total of 120 players from six nations will battle it out on the turf to emerge champions in Football.

Goa (India) will compete with Macau (China), Sri Lanka, Sao Tome and Principe, Mozambique and East-Timor.

East Timor (ranked 190 in the world) will make its Lusofonia Games football debut at this edition of the Games.

--IBNS (Posted on 13-01-2014)

sports-india-news headlines

Neena betters her national record as Kerala retain overall trophy

AFC Cup: Pune down group-leaders Kitchee SC 2-0

Chitra bags World senior snooker title

Four Indians in senior world tennis

4 budding Hyd paddlers in national camp

AIFF congratulates Bengaluru FC on winning the I-league

Month-long Chess Tournament to begin in Sangli from May 1

I-League: Number of firsts for Bengaluru FC

Bengaluru FC are I-League champions

Harendra Singh appointed as coach of junior Indian team

Bengaluru FC are the I-League champions

AFC: Pune to host Hong Kong champions Kitchee SC

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top