East Bengal win Calcutta League fourth straight time

Kolkata, Jan 8 : Coach Armando Colaco gives East Bengal their first trophy of the season, ahead of playing their last match against McDowell Mohun Bagan, when the red and gold were declared champions of the Sahara Calcutta Football League for fourth time in a row after defeating Kalighat MS 2-0 here on Wednesday.

South Sudanese striker James Moga put East Bengal ahead in the 23rd minute and Nigerian Edeh Chidi doubled for the side in the 76 minute, a repetition of score book of the previous play against United Sports.

This was East Bengal's fourth triumph in a row and 36 times since their first win 1942, more than any other rivals in the city to etch out their name on
the trophy.

East Bengal ended their tenth game today earning 28 points while the traditional rivals Mohun Bagan, which play their last match against East Bengal on
Jan 11, were on 22 points from ten games.

In the pre-match news conference Armando Colaco said they wanted to play against Mohun Bagan very much come what might be in the penultimate game.

East Bengal's triumph comes a day after SRMB Srijan Ltd, a steelmaker, inked an agreement as the co-sponsor for the club for next four years.

--IBNS (Posted on 08-01-2014)

sports-india-news headlines

TTFI hires North Korean coaches to train youngsters

Lahiri picks up valuable lessons at Malaysian Open

Arvind Bhat out of New Zealand Open

Holders Churchill Brothers looking to survive relegation

I-L: Pune FC looking for payback; host East Bengal

Bibek Sardar takes narrow lead at Golmuri Juniors

I-League: Pune FC keen to break jinx against East Bengal

Javia to clash with Boopathy in U-12 tennis meet final

Indian women beat Ireland 2-1

Indian men go down 2-4 to Netherlands

'Sports can empower women'

Shuttler Srikanth rises to World No.16

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top