Services men, Kerala women win in national basketball

Ahmedabad, Jan 6 : Services, who lost to Punjab Border Security Force (BSF) 70-80 Sunday evening, went all out here Monday to secure an 89-42 win over Rajasthan (Sikar District) in the 28th Federation Cup National Basketball Championship.

Mayur top scored with 19 points for Services. He had seven two-pointers and one three-pointer. Jairam with three three-pointers finished with 16 points for Services. Hirender S. scored 16 points for Rajasthan and Prashant S. added 15 points.

Kerala women proved too hot to handle for hosts Gujarat who went down 20-70. Neenumol scored 16, Lijimol P. nine, Stephy Nixon scored eight and Jeena P.S. added seven for Kerala which saw contributions from most of the line-up adding to the final tally. Gujarat's poor run continued as Sheena scored 10 points for them.

ONGC men continued their unbeaten run in the tournament to enter knock-out stages defeating Chhattisgarh (Bhilai Steel Plant) 66-34. Yadwinder Singh scored 14 and Amritpal Singh finished with 13 for ONGC. Sameer Rai scored 10 points for Chhattisgarh. Punjab BSF got the better of Kerala (Central Excise) 77-50.

Nagma Mirza scored 29, Kirandeep Kaur 17, Nirmal Kaur 16 and Punjab beat Karnataka 77-49. Sindhuri Shastri and Navaneetha scored 12 a piece for Karnataka and Amruta Mane added 10 points. Chhattisgarh women defeated Delhi 85-44. Anju Lakra scored 24 and Pushpa M. added 21 for Chhattisgarh while Madhu K. scored 21 for Delhi.

--IANS (Posted on 06-01-2014)

sports-india-news headlines

Neena betters her national record as Kerala retain overall trophy

AFC Cup: Pune down group-leaders Kitchee SC 2-0

Chitra bags World senior snooker title

Four Indians in senior world tennis

4 budding Hyd paddlers in national camp

AIFF congratulates Bengaluru FC on winning the I-league

Month-long Chess Tournament to begin in Sangli from May 1

I-League: Number of firsts for Bengaluru FC

Bengaluru FC are I-League champions

Harendra Singh appointed as coach of junior Indian team

Bengaluru FC are the I-League champions

AFC: Pune to host Hong Kong champions Kitchee SC

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top