India denounces Bangladesh election violence

New Delhi, Jan 6 : India Monday categorically came out against the violence that has plagued the parliamentary elections in Bangladesh.

The external affairs ministry said that while it was for the people of Bangladesh to "decide their own future and choose their representatives", "violence cannot and should not determine the way forward".

The ruling Awami League of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina swept the Sunday polls boycotted by the 18-party opposition alliance of the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) of Khaleda Zia.

The Awami League won 102 of the 147 contested seats besides the 127 seats where it ran unopposed, thus bagging more than two-thirds majority.

"Elections in Bangladesh ... were a constitutional requirement. They are a part of the internal and constitutional process of Bangladesh," the ministry spokesman said.

"It is for the people of Bangladesh to decide their own future and choose their representatives in a manner that responds to their aspirations. Violence cannot and should not determine the way forward.

"The democratic processes must be allowed to take their own course in Bangladesh," the spokesperson said.

Around 20 people were killed in separate incidents Sunday and voting halted in more than 200 polling stations when opposition activists torched polling booths or snatched ballot papers.

Most voters stayed at home fearing violence. The BNP has called it a "farcical election".

--IANS (Posted on 06-01-2014)

india-news headlines

Ajit Pawar threat video: AAP complains to EC

India, US poised on more collaborative path: Envoy

Poll panel allows Amit Shah to resume campaign

PETA urges health ministry to ban sale of animal-tested products

'Restrain government from going ahead with search for Lokpal'

Congress government survived because of CBI: Narendra Modi

CAG can audit telecom operators: Supreme Court

Rahul Gandhi accuses BJP of dividing country

Over 69 percent voting in Udhampur: CEO

Media promotes AAP, not Left: CPI-M

116 million vote in sixth round of Lok Sabha battle

R.K. Dhowan is new Indian Navy chief

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top