Bharatiya Mahila Bank to open four branches in northeast

Agartala, Dec 24 : The Bharatiya Mahila Bank (BMB) will open four more branches in four capital cities of the northeastern states, officials said here Tuesday.

"Four branches of BMB would be set up in Agartala (Tripura), Shillong (Meghalaya), Gangtok (Sikkim) and Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh) within the current fiscal (2013-14)," a senior official of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) told IANS.

He said that the BMB would open 16 more branches, including four in northeastern states, taking the total to 25 by the end of March next year.

Besides the four northeastern capital cities, new branches of BMB would be set up during 2013-14 in Hyderabad, Chandigarh, Shimla, Bhubaneswar, Jaipur, Dehradun, Patna, Naya Raipur, Panaji, Srinagar, Thiruvananthapuram and Ranchi.

Aiming to economically empower women, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and United Progressive Alliance (UPA) chairperson Sonia Gandhi inaugurated the BMB Nov 19 simultaneously opening seven branches of the bank.

The bank's nine branches, one each in Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Indore, Bangalore, Guwahati and Lucknow, are all operational.

--IANS (Posted on 24-12-2013)

bank-news headlines

SBI launches TAB banking, e-KYC

Bharatiya Mahila Bank to open 57 branches in FY15

IDFC, Bandhan Financial get banking licences

Infy banking product ranked market leader

Status quo seen in Indian central bank's first bi-monthly review

Women bank now in Meghalaya

Bharatiya Mahila Bank expanding base across India

All women's bank to open three branches in northeast India

ICICI Academy launches centre in Guwahati

ICICI Bank, MCSL tie-up for wage payment

Exim Bank signs $25 mn LoC for Niger drinking water scheme

Much awaited banking licenses to be issued by RBI to reshape banking sector

Quick Links: Goa | Munnar | Pondicherry | Free Yearly Horoscope '2014


Your e-mail:

Your Full Name:

Type verification image:
verification image, type it in the box


Back to Top