Jamshedpur, Dec 21 IBNS | 2 years ago

The steel city of Jamshedpur is all set to witness the top archers from the country fighting it out for the top ranks at the 34th Senior National Archery Championship from Dec 23 to Dec 25 at the JRD Tata Sports Complex.

The tournament will be played at the Archery Grounds in JRD Tata Sports Complex and will be conducted in Recurve and Compound categories.

The 34th Senior National Archery Championship is organized by Tata Steel in association with Steel Plants Sports Board (SPSB).

Archery Association of India has nominated Sri H L Jindal as Competition Director and Sri Virendra Sachdeva as an Observer for this championship.

Besides this, 12 Technical Official nominated by AAI and 6 local officials will assist in conducting the events.

Speaking on the occasion, T V Narendran, Managing Director - Tata Steel, India and South-East Asia said, "It's with pride that we host the 34th Senior National Archery Championship bringing the best of the talents in archery from across the country to the steel city. This championship will be a treat to the fans and followers of archery as we look forward to great duels and exemplary teamwork by the participants. At Tata Steel we have always strived to provide the best facilities for sports and I am certain that all those participating will experience this to the fullest and have a memorable time at the premises of the Tata Archery Academy."

Around 500 players and officials from 26 states and 10 units are participating in the championship. The 26 states includes Sikkim, Manipur, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Andaman and Nicobar, Assam, Pondicherry, Uttarakhand, Karnataka, Chandigarh, Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, West Bengal, Tripura, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and host Jharkhand. The 10 Units participating are Assam Rifles, Services Sports Control Board, Ordinance Factory Sports Control Board, Indo-Tibetan Border Police, Central Reserve Police Force, Indian Railways, Border Security Force, Sashastra Seema Bal, SPSB and Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram.

The tournament will be drawing top archers of the country that include Deepika Kumari, Jayanta Talukdar, Rahul Banerjee, Tarundeep Rai, Atanu Das, Rajat Chauhan, Dola Banerjee, Chakrawolu Swuro, Rimil Biruly, Bombayla Devi and Jhanu Hansda.

In the past too, Tata Steel has organized major Archery tournaments, including Archery event of 34th National Games and also Commonwealth Archery Championship.

Tata Steel has also contributed a lot in making India a force to reckon-with in Archery as many cadets of Tata Archery Academy and employees of Tata Steel have won medals at various major National and International events.

(Posted on 21-12-2013)