Chennai, Dec 15 IANS | 2 years ago

India's top rider Krishnan Rajini stamped his dominance with a grand double on the concluding day of the fifth and final round of the FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship here Sunday.

Rajini reigned supreme in the 165cc Group C category after surviving a tough battle with A, Prabhu who had to be content with finishing second while Jagan Kumar came in third after clinching a three-way fight also involving Deepak Ravikumar and Dinesh Kumar.

Rajini scored his second success of the day when he won the Honda MMSC One Make Championship race with the CBR 250cc bikes. Champion Sarath Kumar was forced to retire from the lead after two laps. Dinesh Kumar finished in second place with A Prabhu in third.

K.Y. Ahamed took the top of the podium once again with a win in the Group D 130cc Novice category. After a race-long battle with S. Kannan, Ahamed held on to the lead to win by a close margin. C. Akash finished in a lonely third place.

In the Group D 165cc Novice class, Balaji U. took his first win when Akash Dingare was excluded from the final result. Naresh Babu finished second ahead of A. Muralidharan.

The action once again started with the YZF R15 Novice category in the Yamaha MMSC One Make Championship. For the third time this weekend, it was a battle between Mizoram rider Lal Rindika and Akash Dingare. Rindika managed to hold off Dingare by three-tenths of a second for the win, but Dingare did enough to be crowned champion.

Earlier, Ridhika won his fifth consecutive race in the TVS Apache RTR 180 Novice class ahead of S. Kannan while Amit Richard took yet another podium as he finished in third place.

Sumit Lucas Toppo capped a perfect weekend after taking yet another win in Honda CBR 150cc Open category. He was followed home by Vivek Mani with Ananth Raj finishing in third place.

The Yamaha YZF R15 Open category race provided the most entertainment of the day with the top three riders finishing within half a second of each other. In a thrilling finish, Ananth Raj beat M. Sudhakar by three thousands of a second to win the race. Third place finisher Arun Muthukrishnan fought them all the way, finishing just behind the leaders.

In the Honda CBF Stunner Novice category, Meka Vidhuraj won convincingly ahead of Akash Dingare while Mithun Kumar finished a distant third after fighting for the lead in the opening laps.

The Apache RTR 180 Open category was a tight race with S.K. Prakash winning. The battle behind him was extremely close with five riders finishing within a second of each other. Ananth Raj and Vivek Mani were side-by-side as they crossed the line in second and third place, respectively.

(Posted on 15-12-2013)