Home > News > West Bengal News

Nabaneeta Dev Sen elected The Bengal president

Posted on Nov 06, 06:24PM | IBNS

The Bengal, a Kolkata-based non governmental organisation of eminent Kolkatans, at its board meeting unanimously elected versatile author Nabaneeta Dev Sen its president.

Dev Sen fills in the post that was held by late novelist Sunil Gangopadhyay.

Eminent artist and The Bengal member, Jogen Choudhury, was elected the Working President of The Bengal, informed Sundeep Bhutoria, Secretary General of The Bengal.

The decision to elect Dev Sen was taken after a meeting of The Bengal board members was convened on Saturday.

The same day, The Bengal members paid rich tributes to their late president at a "Remembrance Meet" function attended by the bereaved family members.

The Bengal is an NGO engaged in various social welfare activities and promotion of art and culture in Bengal and India.

"It was natural to elect Mrs Sen the President who is one of the senior most experienced members. She would guide The Bengal on the path and agenda set by our respected and beloved Late Sri Sunil Ganguly," said an official release on Tuesday.

H M Bangur, Chairman, The Bengal, announced that The Bengal would institute a "The Bengal Sunil Ganguly Award for Excellence is Literature", with a Rs 2 lakh cash award, to be given annually for outstanding work in Bengali literature.