Home > News > Rajasthan News

Kanitkar retained as Rajasthan Ranji team captain

Posted on Oct 29, 06:53PM | UNI

Two-time Ranji Trophy Champions Rajasthan have retained Hrishikesh Kanitkar as their Skipper for the session of 2012-13.

Kanitkar will lead the 15-member state team, who will start their campaign against Bengal from November 2-5 at Kolkata.

The medium pacer and useful bowler of the team in the last season, Sumit Mathur was not included in the team due to poor fielding and fitness problems and so that he was selected in the team, said selection committee chairman Vivekbhan Singh and adding that pacer Manjit Singh, who displayed well against Madhya Pradesh in the practice matches was included in the team in place of him.

He said Kanitkar did not want the third spinner in the team and "that's why Vivek Vyas was dropped from the team".

Madhur Khatri and Gajendra Singh are in the team.

Due to the dispute between the Rajasthan Cricket Association and Rajasthan State Sports Council (RSSC), the RCA has been preparing the KL Saini Stadium for the Ranji matches in Jaipur in place of Sawai Man Singh Stadium.

RCA has formed the high level committee for the preparations.

Team: Hrishikesh Kanitkar (captain), Vinit Saxena, Ankit Lamba, Robin Bist, Ashok Menaria, RR Parida, Punit Yadav, Dishant Yagnik (wicketkeeper), Pankaj Singh, Rituraj Singh, Aniket Choudhary, Madhur Khatri, Manjit Singh, Vaibhav Despandey, Gajendra Singh. Manager-Nripjit Singh, Support Staff- Meyrick Pringle, Nihar Palan and Ashish Tibrewal.