Home > News > Maharashtra News

Shiv Sena's Kala Oza elected mayor, retains hold over Aurangabad

Posted on Oct 29, 06:21PM | UNI

Kala Oza of Shiv Sena was elected as the 19th mayor of the Aurangabad Muncipal Corporation (AMC) today, thus retaining its hold over the civic body.

BJP's Sanjay Joshi was elected as deputy mayor of the AMC.

The Sena-BJP alliance has been ruling the AMC since its inception in 1988.

Ms Oza defeated her nearest rival Firdos Fatima (Congress) by a margin of 17 votes in a straight fight. She secured 58 votes in the 99-member house while Ms Firdos got 41 votes.

Mr Joshi defeated his nearest rival NCP's Raju Shinde by a margin of 13 votes in a closely contested polls. He polled 56 votes while Mr Shinde got 43 votes.

Six candidates had filed nominations for the post of mayor, while 12 candidates for the post of deputy mayor.

During the scrutiny of nominations done just 15 minutes before the elections, four candidates out of total six who had filed their nomination for post of mayor, withdrew their papers.

Similarly, 10 candidates out of 12 who had filed their nominations for the post of deputy mayor withdrew their papers. The saffron alliance got 11 more votes for the post of mayor and nine votes more for the post of deputy mayor than their strength with the independents extending their support to them. Lone MNS corporator Rajgurav Wankhede, who had not cast his vote during the last elections, voted for the Sena-BJP nominees this year. In the 99-member house, the party-wise position is as such Shiv Sena 30 corporators, followed by BJP 15, Congress 19, NCP 11, SPA 3, MNS 1, BRP 2, RPI 2 and IND 16.