Home > News > Cricket News

Kohli named in ICC World T20 XI

Posted on Oct 08, 06:30PM | IANS

India's Virat Kohli was named in the ICC World Twenty20 team of the tournament eleven, announced here Monday.

Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardena was named captain of the team.

The Delhi youngster was India's highest run getter of the tournament with 185 runs in five matches with an average of 46.25.

Suresh Raina was named the 12th man of the team.

Chosen by a select group of experts, the team was aimed at being suited for Sri Lankan conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament only. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

The team in batting order: Chris Gayle (West Indies), Shane Watson (Australia), Virat Kohli (India), Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka - captain), Luke Wright (England), Brendon McCullum (New Zealand - wicketkeeper), Marlon Samuels (West Indies), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan), Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka), 12th Man: Suresh Raina (India).