Home > News > Sports India News

Fiji eves wins Asian rugby championship

Posted on Oct 07, 10:08PM | IBNS

Strongly-built Fiji women were too tough to handle for the defending champion China as the Pacific nation annexed the Asian Women Rugby Sevens championship with a commanding show at the Balewadi Sports Complex stadium here on Sunday.

Asinate Ufia Savu, Rusila Nagasau and Lavenia Tinai scored five goals apiece as Fiji blanked China 15-0 to with the title in their first appearance in Asia's continental championship.

For the third place, Japan overcame last year's runner-up Kazakhstan 17-7. For Japan, Yume Okuroda scored 12 and Yoko Suzuki made 5 after both teams had tied 7-7 at the half-time. For Kazakhstan Sherer Lyudmila (5) and Irina Radzevil (2) were the scorers.

With top three finishers from the championship here assured of berths in the 2013 World Cup in Moscow- Fiji, China and Japan - qualified.

Fiji was allowed to participate in the Asian championship as a kind of 'wildcard' entry by the International Rugby Board as from the Oceania region Australia and New Zealand had already qualified for the Moscow World Cup.

"Fiji, China and Japan have qualified from the championship," confirmed Aga Hussain, Vice-President of Indian Football and Rugby Union (IFRU).

In the semifinals, Fiji had defeated Japan 31-7, while China overcame a stiff resistance from Kazakhstan to win 17-12.

After losing their league matches on Saturday, Indian women began the day with a 5-0 win against Malaysia. Captain Surabhi Date was the lone scorer.

Later, India lost a close match to Iran 17-12-against Surabhi being the lone scorer. For Iran Zoreh Eini scored 12 and Saba Hayati struck 5.

In the last match for the Indian women, the hosts were left clueless by the island nation, Sri Lanka, which won 33-0. The Lankan girls showed better grip over the match and passing with Tanuja Dilrukshi scoring 22. Indika Rukshani (6) and Ruwani Deepika (5) were the other scorers.


Cup, Final: Fiji 15 (Asinate Ufia SAVU 5, Rusila NAGASAU 5, Lavenia TINAI 5) beat China 0.
Third-place: Japan 17 beat Kazakshtan 7.
Semifinals: Fiji 31 beat Japan 7. China 17 beat Kazakhstan 12.
Quarterfinals: Japan 12 beat Thailand 5. Fiji 47 beat Singapore 0. China 31 beat Hong Kong 0. Kazakhstan 34 beat Chinese Taipei 0.

Plate, Final: Hong Kong 19 beat Thailand 7.
Third-place: Singapore 12 beat Chinese Taipei 5.
League: The Philippines 24 beat Iran 5. Thailand 17 beat Singapore 12. Hong Kong 27 beat Chinese Taipei 0.

Bowl, Final: The Philippines 22 beat Sri Lanka 7.
Third-place: Iran 17 (Zoreh Eini 12, Saba Hayati 5) beat India 12 (Surabhi Date 12).
League: India 5 (Surabhi Date 5) beat Malaysia 0. Sri Lanka 20 beat UAE 10. Iran 29 beat South Korea 7.

Shield, Final: UAE 24 beat South Korea 0.
Semifinals: UAE 17 beat Malaysia 12. Sri Lanka 33 (Tanuja Dilrukshi 22, Indika Rukshani 6, Ruwani Deepika 5) beat India 0.

The title winners:
Cup, Winner: Fiji.
Runner-up: China.
Third-place: Japan.

Plate, Winner: Hong Kong.
Runner-up: Thailand

Bowl, Winner: The Philippines
Runner-up: Sri Lanka

Shield, Winner: United Arab Emirates
Runner-up: South Korea.

Qualified for 2013 World Cup in Moscow: Fiji, China, Japan.