Home > News > Kerala News

Kozhikode to host 'national powerlifting champ 2012'

Posted on Sep 02, 04:38PM | UNI

More than 500 competitors, including national and internationals, would participate in the 38th Men and 30th Women Senior National Powerlifting Championship 2012 beginning here on September 3.

Talking to reporters here today, Kerala State Powerlifting Association (KSPA) Secretary Venu G Nair said some of the players who have confirmed participation were P Suresh, Gurvinder Singh, Sandeep Avari, Gurdeep Singh, all Railways, Mithun Joseph, Jimson N J, Pushpamma Joseph, Shami E, Lekha K L, all Kerala, D R Kusuma, Thejawani Naidu of Maharashtra and Sambaguha of West Bengal.

They also represent different states, sports promotion bodies such as the Indian Railways, BSNL and the Ordnance Factories, he said.

In the men's section event would be held in 59, 66, 74, 83, 93, 105, 120 and +120 kg categories and 47, 52, 57, 63, 72, 84 and +84 kgs in the women's section, he said.

Competition would also be held 'Un Equipped Powerlifting' without using sporting dress this year onwards, he said, adding competitors would vie in this section on September 4 and 5 followed by the regular events of the national championship later in the evening.

Doping test for 1st, second and third spot winners and randomly selected from others, would be conducted by the organizers, Kozhikode district Powerlifting Association and the KSPA, he said.

International Powerlifting Federation Vice-President, Peter Thorme, would inaugurate the event, he added.