Home > News > Punjab News

Punjab forms 8 metropolitan planning committees

Posted on Aug 20, 10:19AM | UNI

The Punjab government today formed eight 'Metropolitan Planning Committees' for the overall and constant development in urban belts of the state.

Stating this here today, Local Bodies Minister Chunni Lal Bhagat said that the state government had formed these metropolitan committees for the proper execution of development projects besides to monitor the progress of projects.

He said that these committees had been formed in Ajit Garh (Mohali), Amritsar, Patiala, Bathinda, Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Moga and Pathankot districts.

He said that all MLAs and MPs of the district concerned, all presidents of the Municipalities, Mayors of the Municipal Corporations in the district, Principal Secretary, Department of local government or his nominee not below the rank of Additional Secretary Local Government, Principal Secretary, Department of Finance or his nominee not below the rank of Additional Secretary, Finance, Principal Secretary, Department of Housing and Urban Development or his nominee not below the rank of Additional Secretary Housing and Urban Development, Chief Administrator of the Development Authority in the districts, Director, Local Government Department and Deputy Commissioner of the district concerned would be the ex-officio members of the committee.

Mr Bhagat said that besides ex-officio members there would be number of nominated members including five subject matter specialists including specialists in Architecture, Urban Planning, Finance, Environment, Industries and Structural Engineering to be nominated by the state government, Five senior citizens or representatives of Non-Governmental Organisations from the districts to be nominated by the State Government, Commissioner of the Municipal Corporation at the concerned district headquarter should be the ex-officio Member Secretary of the Committee while the Chairman would be nominated by the state government from amongst the members of the Committee and the Committee could co-opt any subject matter specialist or any of the person so required to carry out its task for a period not exceeding one year.