Home > News > Karnataka News

7 MPs sit in protest to demand change in trains route

Posted on Aug 01, 10:05AM | UNI

Seven members of Parliament from North Karnataka today launched a protest strike in front of SouthWestern Railway (SWR) head office here demanding that Nizamuddin-Yasvantpur Sampark Kranti express must be run via the heartland of Karnataka.

The agitators also included those from other organiastions. They demanded that daily the express train should run via Tumkur, Davangere, Hubli and Belgaum instead of mere two days in a week.

The protesting members also alleged that this train was being run through Andhra Pradesh for five days in a week and not benefitting the people of the state. On five days in a week the express runs via Hindupur (AP), Bellary, Raichur and Guntakal (AP).

Addressing the public on this occasion Dharwad MP, Pralhad Joshi, said despite several appeals to the Railway Minister and the department the demand of the people had not been heeded.

Lok Sabha members P C Gaddigudar, Suresh Angadi, Shivakumar Udasi, Ramesh Jigjingi, Ramesh Katti and G M Siddesh were also present.