Home > News > More News

Assembly mourns demise of IK Gujral, other leaders

Posted on Mar 15, 07:03PM | UNI

Kohima, Mar 15 : The on-going Budget Session of the 12th Nagaland Legislative Assembly today made obituary references of former prime minister I K Gujral, former Nagaland Ministers Sedem Khaming and P Chuba Chang, former MLA Yevehu Lohe and former Interim Body Member of Nagaland Legislative Assembly Zachitso.

The House began with the address of Governor Nikhil Kumar.

Later Speaker Chotisuh Sazo made the obituary reference. Leader of the House and Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio and Congress Legislature Party Leader Tokheho offered their tributes to Mr Gujral.

Mr Sazo made the obituary reference of Sedem Khamin, P Chuba Chang, Yevehu Lohe and Zachitso and the House observed a two-minute silence in honour of the departed souls.

The House then took the 'Motion of Thanks on the Governor's Address', which was proposed by Longrineken and supported by N Thongwang.