Home > News > Cricket News

Kenya names squad for World Cricket League

Posted on Feb 19, 09:27PM | IANS

Nairobi, Feb 19 : Kenya retained Collins Obuya as the captain of the 14-man team that will participate in the Pepsi ICC Africa World Cricket League Division 1 tournament in Uganda.

Cricket Kenya unveiled the squad Tuesday that also includes the experienced Tanmay Mishra, Morris Ouma, Nehemiah Odhiambo and Rakep Patel, reports Xinhua.

Ragheb Aga returns after missing Kenya's tour to Namibia last September.

He replaces Duncan Allan, currently studying at the University of Queensland in Australia. Aga last represented Kenya in February 2012 in a home series against Ireland in Mombasa.

Dominic Wesonga comes in place of Shem Ngoche having not been named for any major championship since representing the country in the Intercontinental Cup match in Netherlands in September 2011.

The event will run from Feb 23 to March 1 with Kenya drawn against the hosts Uganda, Tanzania, Nigeria and Botswana in a competition where the top two will advance to the global qualifiers scheduled for early next year.

The tournament will be contested on a round-robin format where teams will play each other twice with the top teams determined at the conclusion of these two rounds.