Home > News > Cricket News

Gambhir dropped for first two Tests against Australia

Posted on Feb 10, 07:22PM | IBNS

Mumbai, Feb 10 : Opener Gautam Gambhir has been dropped as the All-India Senior Selection Committee of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) met at the Cricket Centre in Mumbai on Sunday to pick the Indian team for the first two Tests of the Airtel Test series against Australia.

Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been named in the squad.

Spinner Harbhajan Singh has been included in the team.

R. Ashwin and Pragyan Ojha are the other two spinners named in the squad.

MS Dhoni will lead the team.

"Gautam Gambhir will replace Dhawan in the India 'A' side for the three-day game against Australia, to be played from 16 February 2013 to 18 February 2013. Gambhir will lead the side," said BCCI secretary Sanjay Jagdale in a statement.

The first Test of the four-match Test series will start from Feb 22 in Chennai.

1. M.S. Dhoni Captain

2. Virender Sehwag

3. Shikhar Dhawan

4. Cheteshwar Pujara

5. Sachin Tendulkar

6. Virat Kohli

7. Ravindra Jadeja

8. Harbhajan Singh

9. R. Ashwin

10. Pragyan Ojha

11. Bhuvneshwar Kumar

12. Ajinkya Rahane

13. Ashok Dinda

14. Murali Vijay

15. Ishant Sharma