Home > News > More News

88 pc Tripura contestants not filed IT returns

Posted on Feb 04, 03:08PM | UNI

Agartala, Feb 4 : Altogether 218 of 249 contestants in the upcoming Tripura assembly which is around 88 per cent, have never filed income tax returns, including three candidates with maximum assets in their possession, National Election Watch (NEW) report said here today.

According to the report, nine candidates, including State's Finance Minister Badal Chowdhury and four others from CPI-(M), three from Congress and one from BJP having assets more than Rs 40 lakh did not declare in their PAN details though they were supposed to provide this information in their affidavits.

New Tripura Chapter's Chairman and former Law Secretary of the state B B Senapati expressed his concern over the profile of the candidates, which indicated an uneven growth of assets among few MLAs.

Mr Senapati said, out of 218 candidates ruling CPI (M) have the maximum number of candidates with 51 of 55 (93 pc ) followed by BJP with 46 of 50 (92pc ) candidates who failed to furnish their asset details and added that as per the provisions the contestants are liable to file the financial detail but they do not adhere to it.

"Possession of high assets who never filed IT returns are Dilip Sarkar of Congress contesting from Badharghat (SC) constituency with total assets of Rs 4.58 crore followed by Bilal Mia of Congress from Boxanagar with assets of Rs 3.06 crore and Sujit Paul, an independent candidate from Town Bardowali with Rs. 1.82 crore," Mr Senapati pointed out.

The report, however, underlined that the percentage of candidates with criminal antecedents have also increased to eight from two per cent as compared to previous assembly poll and INC has 13 out of 48 (27 pc ), BJP has one out of 50 (2 pc ), CPI (M) has one out of 55 (2pc ). Out of these 19 candidates with criminal cases, charges have been framed against 12 candidates.

Altogether 16 Corepatis, including 12 from INC, two from IND and one from CPI-M are in fray and the highest percentage of assets belong to five ruling-party legislators are Subodh Das, Keshab Debbarma, Aghore Debbarma (Agriculture minister), Naryan Chandra Chowdhury, Nirajoy Tripura.