Home > News > Karnataka News

12 BJP MLAs tender resignation to Speaker

Posted on Jan 30, 10:35AM | UNI

Bangalore, Jan 29 : Ending tension and high drama within the ruling BJP, 12 MLAs who had aligned with Karnataka Janata Party led by former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa, today tendered their resignations to Speaker K G Bopaiah

Mr Bopaiah, who was away from the city when the legislators trooped into his chambers last week, was available today and spoke to them individually and received their resignations

It is likely that Mr Bopaiah would accept their resignations, KJP leader M D Lakshminarayan, MLC, told reporters at the Vidhana Soudha

Two BJP legislators had already petitioned the Speaker to disqualify 12 dissident legislators stating that they had associated with KJP and had indulged in anti-party activities

The legislators who tendered their resignations today included former ministers Shobha Karandlaje and C M Udhasi, Nehru Olekar, Basavaraj Patil Attur, H Halappa, Suresh Gouda Patil, Vittal Kataka Donda, Sunil Vylapure, Chikkana Goudar, Chandrappa, B P Harish, G Shivanna and Thippeswamy

The 13th legislator, Tarikere Suresh, was not present in the morning and was expected to tender his resination later, KJP sources indicated

The current strength of the 225-member Assembly is BJP 117, Congrss 71, Janata Dal (secular) 26, Independents 7, Speaker one, Nominated one, vacant two