Home > News > Karnataka News

12 BJP members resign, one resignation accepted by Speaker

Posted on Jan 30, 10:08AM | UNI

Bangalore, Jan 29 : Karnataka Assembly Speaker K G Bopaiah has accepted the resignation of Challakere (ST) Assembly Member Thippeswamy of the BJP following an en masse resignation by 12 legislators who had quit the ruling party and intend to join the Karnataka Janata Party of former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa

In a long-winding process, the Speaker was holding discussions with each of the 12 members who had come to his chamber today to tender their resignations

Assembly Secretary P Omprakash, in a notification, said the Speaker has accepted the resignation of Mr Thippeswamy

Mr Thipeeswamy was not among the BJP Members against whom two party legislators had petitioned the Speaker for disqualification for indulging in anti-party activities

The legislators who tendered their resignations today included Former Ministers Shobha Karandlaje and C M Udhasi, Nehru Olekar, Basavaraj Patil Attur, H Halappa, Suresh Gouda Patil, Vittal Kataka Donda, Sunil Vylapure, Chikkana Goudar, Chandrappa, B P Harish, G Shivanna and Thippeswamy

The 13th legislator, Tarikere Suresh, was not present in the morning and was expected to tender his resignation later, KJP sources indicated

The current strength of the 225-member Assembly is BJP 117, Congrss 71, Janata Dal (secular) 26, Independents 7, Speaker one, Nominated one, vacant two