Home > News > Karnataka News

BJP MLCs seek disqualification of 5 party MLCs

Posted on Jan 30, 10:08AM | UNI

Bangalore, Jan 29 : Continuing its action against the rebel legislators supporting Mr B S Yeddyurappa, the ruling BJP today filed a petition with Karnataka Legislative Council Secretary V Shreesh seeking disqualification of 5 MLCs

The petition was filed by BJP sitting members Ashwathnarayana and Somanna Bevinamarad alleging that the five MLCs have indulged in anti-party activities and acted against Sec 2 (1) of the 10th schedule of the Constitution

They alleged that the five members of Upper House had taken part in the Yeddyurappa-headed Karnataka Janata Paksha (KJP) State convention in Haveri on December 9 and party Executive Meeting on January 4 and hence sought their disqualification