Home > News > Karnataka News

BJP moves against 13 Yeddyurappa loyalists

Posted on Jan 29, 10:47AM | IBNS

Two legislators from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have filed a petition with Karnataka Assembly Speaker K G Bopiah seeking the disqualification of 13 MLAs who have resigned from their party in a show of support for former Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa.

The 13 Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) of the ruling BJP had earlier sought a meeting with Bopaiah in order to announce their resignations from the BJP.

The MLAs, who are loyal to Yeddyurappa, also submitted copies of their resignation letters to the Governor.

Yeddyurappa, a former Chief Minister Karnataka who had to quit the top seat after being caught up in a graft scandal, had floated his own party Karnataka Janata Party (KJP) following his exit from the BJP.

Karnataka Rural Development Minister Shobha Karandlaje and Public Works Minister CM Udaisi also tendered their resignations to Shettar on Jan 23.

Earlier BJP president Rajnath Singh on Monday said there was no threat to the party's government in Karnataka and it would complete its full term.

Reports said after an hour-long meeting with Karnataka chief minister Jagdish Shettar here, Singh said there was no crisis in Karnataka.

"I have no advice to give to Mr Shettar as he is a thoroughly experienced and competent politician," he said.

"Our government will complete its term," Shettar said.

Shettar's meeting with Singh was dubbed as a courtesy call.