Home > News > Cricket News

India reclaims number-one ODI ranking

Posted on Jan 28, 11:08AM | IBNS

Not only did Mahendra Singh Dhoni's side manage to win the series by a margin of 3-2, it also reclaimed the number-one rank on the Reliance ICC ODI Championship Table for the first time in just over three years.

India, which started the series in third place at 117 ratings points, gained two ratings points to end at 119. England, which had started on 121 ratings points, slipped to 119 ratings points after the series loss, only to see India finish ahead of it by 0.2 when the ratings are calculated beyond the decimal point.

India had become the number-one ranked side after winning the third match of the series on 19 January and then held onto the spot thereafter.

England had gained the number-one spot in September 2012, while it is the second time since September 2009 that India has topped the current ranking system since it was introduced in 2002.

India's cause was also helped by South Africa, which lost to New Zealand 1-2. As a result, South Africa lost nine ratings points and dropped from second to fourth position, one ratings point behind third-ranked Australia. New Zealand gained seven ratings points and moved ahead of Bangladesh into eighth position with 79 ratings points.

Meanwhile, Australia and Sri Lanka have retained their pre-series ODI ratings after their series ended in a two-all draw. Australia is now third at 113 ratings points while Sri Lanka is three ratings points behind in fifth spot.

To find out exactly how the forthcoming series will affect the Championship table, please click here. The ODI and T20I Championship tables, unlike the Test Championship table, are updated after every match.

The tussle for the top spot on the Reliance ICC ODI Championship Table is also a build-up for the ICC Champions Trophy, scheduled to be held from 6 to 23 June in England and Wales.

Group A includes defending champion Australia, 2000 winner New Zealand and 2002 champion Sri Lanka, along with host England, which reached the final when it last staged the event in 2004.

Sides in Group B of the ICC Champions Trophy are 1998 winner South Africa, 2004 champion West Indies, 2002 winner India, and Pakistan.

The tournament opener will feature two former winners when South Africa takes on 2002 champion India in Cardiff on 6 June. The following day, the West Indies will face Pakistan at The Oval.

The semi-finals of the ICC Champions Trophy will be staged at The Oval (19 June) and in Cardiff (20 June), while Edgbaston will be the venue of the final, to be played on 23

With 12 ratings points separating number-one ranked India from sixth-ranked Pakistan, the battle for the Reliance ICC ODI Shield and a cash award of USUSD 175,000 is truly warming up.

There are a number of additional series to be played before the 1 April cut-off date. Australia will take on the West Indies between 1 and 10 February, England will travel to New Zealand for a three-match series from 17 February, and South Africa will host Pakistan in a five-match series from 10 March. Every match counts as the six leading sides battle to finish inside the top two.

The side that tops the Championship table on the 1 April cut-off date collects a cheque of USUSD 175,000 along with a Shield, while the team that finishes second receives a cheque of USUSD 75,000.

Reliance ICC ODI Championship (as on 27 January)

Rank Team Rating

1 India 119

2 England 119

3 Australia 113

4 South Africa 112

5 Sri Lanka 110

6 Pakistan 107

7 West Indies 88

8 New Zealand 79

9 Bangladesh 78

10 Zimbabwe 50

11 Ireland 35

12 Netherlands 16

13 Kenya 11