Home > News > More News

Nagaland: 5 MLAs resign from state assembly

Posted on Jan 23, 12:28PM | IBNS

Five independent legislators including a minister and three parliamentary secretaries resigned from the state assembly of Nagaland on Monday, ahead of the state assembly polls to be held on Feb 23, officials said on Tuesday.

A top official source of Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) confirmed that five Member of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) had resigned from the state assembly.

"The NLA Speaker Kiyanielie Peseyie had accepted their resignations and a notification issued," the source said.

The five independent MLAs are Nganshi Ao, KC Nihoshe, C Sazo, P Dako Phom and C Kipili Sangtam.

Ngangshi Ao was the minister of Public Health Engineering (PHE) department while KC Nihoshe was the parliamentary secretary of Industries and Commerce Department.

On the other hand, C Sazo was the parliamentary secretary of the Social Welfare department, P Dako Phom was the parliamentary secretary of Transport and Communication department and C Kipili Sangtam was the chairman of the Nagaland State Mineral Development Corporation (NSMDC).

After the five MLAs resignation, the present strength of the state assembly came down to 55 seats, in which the ruling Naga People's Front (NPF) holds 35 seats, Congress 18 seats and two seats for the Independent candidates.

On the other hand, Congress on Tuesday launched its poll campaign from Dimapur.

During a rally held in Dimapur the Congress appealed to the voters for ending the 10 years misruling government of NPF, in the presence of Union Petroleum Minister M Veerappa Moily.