Home > News > Maharashtra News

97th Constitution amedment to give new dimension to coop sector: CM

Posted on Jan 21, 07:11PM | UNI

Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan today said the state government will amend its Cooperative law by February 15 to align with the 97th Constitution (amendment) and stressed that it would give a new dimension to the cooperative sector in Maharashtra.

Speaking after unveiling a life-size statue of cooperative leader and founder member of Sangli District Central Cooperative Bank (SDCCB) and Congress leader late Gulabrao Patil at bank premises here this afternoon, he said there were differences on audit part of amendment but the state government will seek guidance and take a decision on this as early as possible.

Justifying the recent decision to appoint administrators on various cooperative bodies in the state, Mr Chavan said they were appointed as these institutions were in difficulty due to corruption and unjust loan distribution.

On drought situation in the state, the Chief Minister said the state government has demanded from the Central government Rs 2,200 crore for 105 sprinkling schemes in the state.

"If we do not get this fund in time, then the state will give this fund," he added.

Mr Chavan gave away the 'Sahakar Prabodhankar Gulabrao Patil Puraskar' to Kallappaanna Awade, chairman of the National Cooperative Sugar Federation, New Delhi and Dr S R Patil, MLA and chairman of Shree Datta Cooperative Sugar factory, Shirol and 'Runanubandh Purskar' to Mohanrao Kadam, chairman of Sonhira Cooperative Sugar factory of Wangi village.

The award was instituted by Gulbrao Patil Memorial Trust.

Prithviraj Patil, chairman of Gulabrao Patil Memorial Trust, Patangrao Kadam, state forest minister, Harshwardhan Patil, cooperative minister, and Jayant Patil, rural development minister, also spoke on the occasion.

Shivajirao Deshmukh, chairman of state legislative council, Pratik Patil, Union minister of state for coal, Satej Patil, minister of state for home, Rajgopal Devra, cooperative secretary, MPs, MLAs and other officials were present on the occassion.