Home > News > Sports India News

Pune FC sponsor SGFI National Girls Football

Posted on Jan 14, 09:35PM | IBNS

Pune Football Club has extended support-sponsorship to the Directorate of Sports and Youth Services, here for the conduct of the 58th National School Football Under-17 and 19 Girls Championship 2012-13, beginning Tuesday.

The School Games Federation of India (SGFI) event will feature 19 teams which includes 18 states teams apart from representation from the Indian Public School Conference (IPSC).

The finals of both sections have been scheduled for Jan 21, 2012.

The tournament will be played on a league cum knock out basis on four grounds; two at the Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex Mahalunge-Balewadi and two at the Pune FC practice pitches at Mamurdi respectively.

Pune FC Head Operation, Chirag Tanna said, "It's an honour to be associated with the sport we so passionately love and promote right through our youth system. Women's football needs support and when the opportunity arose we decided to lend support."

Pune FC's support is the first for any National-level event particularly school-level, which the club felt needs to be encouraged and hence extended its whole hearted willingness.

The teams have been divided into six groups; five of three teams each and one comprising of four in both sections for the league stage. The winners and runners up will progress to the quarterfinals.

The defending champions in the Under-17 section are Nagaland, while the runners up are Bihar. Nagaland are placed in Group-A alongside host's Maharashtra and Goa.

The opening ceremony has been slated for 10.00 am on Tuesday, Jan 15, 2012 at the Balewadi Sports Complex.

The championship begins at 7.30 am at the Balewadi Sports Complex wherein Chhattisgarh take on Haryana in the Under-19 section, while Chhattisgarh play Dadra an Nagar Haveli in the Under-17 section.

Following the opening ceremony, Andhra Pradesh plays Punjab in the Under-19 section, while Tamil Nadu clashes with Punjab at Balewadi at 10.30 am.

Host's Maharashtra, meanwhile, have announced their respective teams with Pune girls dominating both age-group sections. The teams will be coached by Jaideep Angirwal (Under-19) and Malti Pote (Under-17), while Shipa Chabukswar has been named manager.

The Team

Maharashtra Under-19: Anisha Chavan, Roshini Dadachandani, Camile Fernandes, Rebecca Rodrigues, Snehal Manchkar, Prajakta Tambadkar, Alekha Kulkarni (all Mumbai), Rohini Jagdale, Poonam Sonawane, Darshana Sanas, Gala Devanshi, Alisha Ranikhenawala, Magar YashshreeJigisha Ghodke, (all Pune), Nirmala Dhurve, Monu Uieke (Nagpur), Vidya Gawai, Nayan Bhosale.

Maharashtra Under-17: Priyanka Sutriya, Nirbha Gurye, Delphiya Tarvor (Mumbai), Priyanka Wagh (Satara), Sweta Borade, Nikita Jadhav (Buldhana), Sneha Shinde, Suman Salian (Vashi), Sanaam Rathod, Arya Karpe, Priyamvada Dahiya, Shrushti Iyer, Aishwarya Balapure, Shivani Dhamshetye, Satvika Jha (Pune), Sakshi Daroli (Yewatmal), Nikita Karmarkar (Nagpur), Vaishnavi Pawar (Nashik),