Home > News > Karnataka News

Direct Cash Transfer Scheme launched in Mysore

Posted on Jan 02, 04:15PM | UNI

Mysore district was one of the 43 districts in the country where direct cash transfer scheme (DCTS) was launched today.

Speaking after launching the programme at Chaluvamba hospital, Karnataka Medical Education and district in charge minster S A Ramadas said the DCTS was launched with transfer of money to ten women who delivered child at various hospitals in the district.

Rs 700 per to each women was transferred to their accounts under Janasni Suresha scheme in the district on the first day of the scheme. He also enquired the health of first women Swmya at the hospital.

He said under this scheme, nearly 300 students of tribals and minorities received the scholarship amounts through bank accounts. Nearly 12 schemes come under the education department for the DTCS in the district.

In the first phase, nearly 20 districts in the country would be implemented under this DTCS, he added.

Chief executive officer of Zilla Panchayat Dr Ajay Nagabushan, who also holds additional charge of deputy commissioner, said nearly 1652 women, has been identified under the Jananshi Suresha scheme in the district who were eligible for DCTS for the month of January in the district in which 1,522 have already opened their bank accounts.

Those who have not aadhar card would also given benefits through crossed cheques and later aadhar card would be made for them.

The new accounts are being opened with the help of business correspondents of banks. According to banks, of the total 1,340 villages in the district, only 299 villages are identified with branches located in the vicinity of two km to five km from villages.

Giving an account of the scheme, the officer said of the total 43 districts taken up in the nation, Mysore was among three districts in the state selected for launch. The other two districts are Tumkur and Dharward in the state.

The beneficiaries of 34 schemes of 14 departments would be covered under the scheme.