Home > News > Karnataka News

Birth of 2 parties, 2 CMs and 2 Dy CMs 2012 highlight in Karnataka

Posted on Dec 27, 09:55AM | UNI

Birth of two regional parties floated by ruling Bharatiya Janata Party rebels, former Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa and former Minister Sriramulu and the State getting two Deputy Chief Ministers for the first time, were among the political highlights of the year 2012.

The year also saw two Chief Ministers in office in one year--D V Sadananda Gowda upto June and Jagadish Shettar from then on.

Bickering had become order of the day in the BJP after coming to power for the first time in May 2008. The internal fights and difference of opinion led to the formation of the two regional parties--BSR Congress by Mr Sriramulu, a close friend of mining baron G Janardhana Reddy and Karnataka Janatha Paksha (KJP) by Mr Yeddyurappa.

While Mr Sriramulu floated his new party expressing his anguish over the arrest of Janardhana Reddy, who is in jail since September 2010 on illegal iron ore mining charges, Mr Yeddyurappa, terming the BJP as most 'dishonest party' took over as KJP President.

Both the leaders are targeting the BJP. While Mr Sriramulu claims that he could muster sufficient numbers to prevent BJP retaining power, Mr Yeddyurappa says that he has strength of more than 60 MLAs and this is a BJP-KJP coalition government.

'I am confident of winning full majority in the next election and forming the government,' he said after taking over the President's post in the new party.

Mr Yeddyurappa's claim is based on the support he has received from several ruling party legislators and Ministers attending the luncheon meetings hosted by him on several occasions.

In fact 14 legislators shared the dais with him on December 9 at Haveri when he became president of the new party.

Uncharacteristically, the BJP, at one time known for its discipline, took only mild steps like suspending a few of the leaders for having supported Yeddyurappa.