Home > News > Sports India News

Bridge: Krishnan, Rajkumar win Holkar

Posted on Dec 22, 10:04PM | IBNS

The 54th Winter National Bridge Championship concluded here Saturday night when finals of four more events were held at Geetanjali stadium with R K Krishnan and Raghu Raj Kumar winning the Holkar Pairs event outplaying 33 other pairs who were in the frey.

Krishnan and Rajkumar scored 962 Master Points.

Vetarans Subhas Gupta and J M Shah emerged runners up tallying 920 points while Samir Basak and Sukomal Das settled for third position with 896.

Among three other events of the concluding day Mixed Pairs title went to husband-wife duo Lakshmi Chari and T T Chari who performed best to collect 102 Master Points and secure first position in this event.

Out of total twenty entries Suman Sehgal and Nirmal Guha became runners up with 97.5 points and were hotly chased by Indra Chowdhury and Abhijit Bose who had to remain contended taking third spot with 97.

In the categoried pair Pinkai Khan and Bharati Dey emerged winners collecting 194 Master Points.

A separate Pairs event for the Junior players (under 25 years) was held here for the first time where Aninda Kumar Sarkara and Kushal Chakraboarty finished first out of total seven teams with 15 Master Points.

The duo of Wrik Chakraborty and Aritra Bhattachrajee came second with 14 while Bibhu Ranjan Saha and Subham Talukdar took the third spot with 12.

Bridge federation of India (BFI) secretary Arijit Guha informed that junior even has been introduced to encourage the young players to take up this game.

Earlier on Friday Formidables from Delhi regained the coveted Ruia Gold Cup defeating India Blues Bombay by 171-138 points while Ruia Silver Trophy went to Combination who defeated Dr. S sengupta's IV by 207-198 points.

IN IMP pairs ABapat and Sunil Machhar emerged champions with 177 points while S Sadhukhan and Ayan Chatterjee became runners up scoring 171.

BFI President Secretary Arijit Guha and veteran Gobinda Sinha- a member of the Indian team which won the Far East Bridge championship in 1977 - distributed the prizes and trophies to the respective winners.