Home > News > Sports India News

Bridge: Formidables bags Ruia Gold Cup

Posted on Dec 22, 12:51PM | IBNS

Kolkata proved to be the lucky venue for Formidables from Delhi as they regained the Ruia Gold Cup after one year, defeating former champions India Blues Bombay by 33 IMPs Friday in the final of the 54th Winter National Bridge Championship at Geetanjali stadium here.

In the summit show down Formidables, who won this title at Kolkata in 2010 and were represented this time by B Satyanarayan, Kiran Nadar, R Tiwari, H B Prabhakar, K R venkataraman and Sunit Choksi Friday beat India Blues by 171-138 points.

The title for the IMP Pairs event went to Arun Bapat and Sunil Machhar from Mumbai while S Sadhukhan and Ayan Chatterjee from Kolkata finished runners up.

Though India Blues comprising V M Lal, J M Shah, Himani Khandelwal, Subhas Gupta, Rajiv Khandelwal and Swarnendu Banerjee started well and took a five-point lead at the end of the first session scoring 42 against 37 by Formidables, they failed to maintain the tempo while Delhi players kept their cool and went ahead soon.

The second session saw Formidables scoring 52 against 22 by Iindia Blues.

In the third session also Formidables combined well to buttress their lead further earning 46 while India Blues had to remain contended with 34.

Though India Blues played a little better in the fourth and concluding session to score 40 against 36 by their rivals, that was not enough to stop them from regaining the glittering Gold Cup.

Beside the Gold Cup, Formidables will be richer by Rs.1,20,000 which is the winners' purse while runners up India Blues will get Rs.50,000.

At the end of the fifth and final session of IMP Pairs event Arun Bapat and Sunil Machhar of Mumbai piped earlier leaders S Sadhukhan and Ayan Chatterjee after a close fight.

Bapat/ Machhar scored 177 against 171 by runners up Sadhukhan/Chatterjee.

Animesh Raj and N K Gupta finished third with 149. Bapat/Machhar will receive Rs.16,000 and Sadhukhan/Chatterjee will get Rs.8000 as prize money.

Others who finished among the top tens in IMP Pairs include C V Rao/ Badal Das 143, Asim Saha/ Biswasanti Bhattacharjee 140, B Saha / P Kushari 129, R Pralhad/ R Krishnan 128, Uday Ghosal/ Moloy Mondal 125, Makarand Kulkarni/ Dattatray Ukidave 123, Tapan Roy/ Manna 123. More than 300 pairs took part in the IMP Pairs event.

Meanwhile in Holkar Pairs event the duo of Ravi Goenka and Subhas Gupta are leading with 271 points at the end of the first session of third elimination round.They are being followed by Bimal Sicka/Tapan Roy 261, R Krishnan/Raghavendra Rajkumar 258, S K Bandyopadhyay/A k Kundu 257, A B Chakraborty/ A Roy 256.