Home > News > Sports India News

Rahim Nabi is AIFF Player-of-the-Year

Posted on Dec 20, 07:28PM | IBNS

Syed Rahim Nabi has been voted the AIFF Player-of-the-Year, 2012.

The announcement was made by AIFF President Praful Patel during the Annual General Meeting conduced at Football House, the All India Football Federation Headquarters, in New Delhi on Thursday.

Nabi was chosen the winner after voting by I-League Club Coaches. The voting procedure ended on December 14 at 6pm.

Congratulating Nabi, Patel said: "Nabi has been a pillar of strength in the National Team for long. I wish him success in his future endeavours."

AIFF General Secretary Kushal Das lauded Nabi on his achievements. "Nabi is a versatile player. His commitment as a player is exemplary. He is a deserving recipient of the Award."

National Coach Wim Koevermans said: "I congratulate Rahim Nabi on being chosen the winner by the various I-League club coaches. I wish him all the best for the future and wish him a speedy recovery."

Nabi joins a list of illustrious players who have won the Award since 1992. The earlier recipients of the Award stay as follows:

1992: I.M.Vijayan
1993: V.P.Sathyan
1994: Jo Paul Ancheri
1995: Baichung Bhutia
1996: Bruno Coutinho
1997: I.M.Vijayan
2000: I.M.Vijayan
2001: Jo Paul Ancheri
2002: Deepak Mondal
2003: Tomba Singh
2004: S. Venkatesh
2005: Climax Lawrence
2006: Surkumar Singh
2007: Sunil Chhetri
2008: Baichung Bhutia
2009: Subrata Paul
2010: Gouramangi Singh
2011: Sunil Chhetri

A file picture of Syed Rahim Nabi waving after the Nehru Cup Final.


1. Rahim Nabi made his debut for India on 17.11.04 against Oman in the Pre World Cup Qualifiers in Muscat.

2) So far, he has represented India in 61 matches and scored 6 goals.

3) He stays a winning member of the following:

Nehru Cup: 2007, 2009 and 2012 (all in New Delhi).
SAFF Cup: 2005 (Karachi) and 2011 (New Delhi).
AFC Challenge Cup: 2008 (New Delhi).

4) He has Captained India in two International Matches - vs Thailand on 6.6.07 in Bangkok (Pre- Olympics) and vs Malaysia on 16.11.11 in an International Friendly in Kolkata.

Club Competitions:

Has scored 65 goals so far.

Trophies Won:
Federation Cup: 2007, 2009, 2010
Durand Cup: 2004
San Miguel Cup (Kathamandu): 2004
Kolkata League: 2004, 2006, 2010
Super Cup: 2005/06.

1) Played for Mohammedan Sporting from 2002 to 2003 and from 2003 to 2004.

2) Played for East Bengal from 2004 to 05 and from 2010 to 2011. He also captained East Bengal in 2009-2010 season.

3) Joined Mohun Bagan in 2011.

Besides, he has also represented Bengal from 2004 to 2008 in the Santosh Trophy and scored 6 goals.