Home > News > Sports India News

Junior tennis: Parveen enters semis

Posted on Dec 20, 01:43PM | IBNS

Mumbai's Parveen Shivekar registered the upset of the tournament when she knocked out the girls Under-16 top seed Gurajat-lass Zeel Desai from the Club Solaris Junior Ranking Championship Series tennis tournament, on Wednesday.

In the quarter-final match played at the Club Solaris' courts in Mayur Colony, Parveen made a superb comeback from being a set down to get the better of top seed 5-7, 6-4, 6-2 to enter semi-finals.

The other two upsets of the day were also made by Maharashtra players. In the same age group, Prachi Naidu prevailed over eighth seed Moksha Thukral in a thriller. Prachi defeated a seed for the second time in three days this week, when she edged out Moksha 6-4, 4-6, 7-6 (8-6) in a very tightly fought contest.

In the boy's Under-14 event, Tanmay Thakar comfortably defeated fourth seed Christian Cummings 6-1, 6-2 to make it to the last four. The boy's Under-16 event went mostly according to script on Wednesday with the top two seeds Aditya Gokhale and Jayesh Pungaliya, both local lads, making it to semis along with third seed Vastin Thaker and sixth seed Kosaraju Sivadeep.

The girls U-14 event has also gone as per script so far, with top seed Zeel Desai, second seed R Sai Avanthika, third seed Shivani Ingale and fourth seed Shrishti Dass completing the semi-final line-up.

In all, 12 of the 16 semi-finalists are from Maharashtra.

RESULTS (Quarterfinals)

Boys; Under 14: 1-C. Vashisht (Kar) bt 7-Siddhant Banthia (Mah) 6-1, 6-0; 3-Vastin Thaker (Mah) bt 5-Kunj Kotak (Guj) 6-3, 6-4; Tanmay Thakar (Mah) bt 4-Christian Cummings (Mah) 6-1, 6-2; 8-Armaan Bhatia (Mah) bt Aayush Prabhune (Mah) 3-6, 6-3, 3-0 conceded.

Under 16: 1-Aditya Gokhale (Mah) bt 7-Neel Lapalikar (Mah) 6-0, 6-4; 6-Kosaraju Sivadeep (AP) bt Mayur Borse (Mah) 7-6(7), 6-2; 3-Vastin Thaker (Mah) bt Tanmay Thakkar (Mah) 6-4, 6-3; 2-Jayesh Pungalia (Mah) bt Rian Pandole (Mah) 0-6, 6-3, 6-4.

Girls; Under-14: 1-Zeel Desai (Guj) bt 6-Simran Kejriwal (Mah) 6-3, 6-2; 4-Shrishti Dass (Mah) bt 7-Moksha Thukral (Mah) 6-4, 5-7, 6-3; 3-Shivani Ingale (Mah) bt5-Rashmika Rajan (Kar) 2-6, 6-4, 6-2; 2-R.Sai Avanthika (TN) bt 8-Zeel Gandhi (Guj) 6-1, 6-0.

Under-16: Parveen Shivekar bt 1-Zeel Desai (Guj) 5-7, 6-4, 6-2; 4-Shivani Ingale (Mah) bt Rashmika Rajan (Kar) 6-3, 6-3; 2-R.Sai Avanthika (TN) bt Ishwari Seth (Mah) 6-2, 6-1.