Home > News > Sports India News

IOA constitutes Athletes commission

Posted on Dec 06, 08:59PM | UNI

After taking charge of office today, the newly elected executive council of the suspended Indian Olympic Association (IOA) constituted Athletes commission and appointed advisers to guide them in taking Indian sports forward.

The executive council constituted a three-member advisory panel with P T Usha, P Gopichand and Dilip Tirkey to guide the office bearers on the problems faced by the athletes and also formed nine members Athletes commission to oversee the needs of the players.

The General body also discussed the International Olympic Council's statement that the elections were null and void and wish to clarify that the polls took place with a well laid out procedure and there is nothing to believe otherwise.

"The elections were conducted under the guidance of a three-member Election Commission comprising Retired Chief Justice Anil Dev Singh, Justice V K Bali and Justice J D Kappor and even the Union Government had sent its observer Joy Sebastian to oversee the election process.

"Even the members of the media were present at the venue in large numbers and it only proves that the election were held in free and fair manner and also with the approval of all the stakeholders party to the Indian Olympic Association in India," the IOA said in a statement.

Despite the issues with the International Olympic Council, the IOA had to go ahead with the elections because of the Delhi High Court directive and also the fact that the tenure of the earlier body had expired and a new body had to be constituted soon. outgoing secretary general Randhir Singh had himself issued the notification, decided to contest the elections as well.

But to every body's surprise, Randhir Singh withdrew from the election process and the two observers , one from IOC and the other from OCA also did not turn up for the election process. The reasons for the same are best known to them only, the statement read.

The Secretary Sports, Government of India has invited newly elected IOA president Abhey Singh Chautala for a meeting to discuss the letter sent by the IOC.

A delegation headed by Chautala will meet Secretary of Sports tomorrow at 1200 hours to discuss the issue and decide the plan of action.

The IOA has already constituted a two-member committee of RK Anand and N Batra to clarify the position of IOA to IOC and also state the actual facts on the entire development which was misrepresented before the IOC resulting in the action taken by the IOC against the IOA.

Newly athletes commission: Chairman: Gurbachan Singh Randhawa Athletics Members: Wilson Cherian - Swimming K Malleswari- Weighlifting Manjit Dua- Table Tennis Jatinder Singh- Boxing Aparna Popat- Badminton Anuj Kumar- Wrestling Lawn tennis and Archery will nominate their members soon.