Home > News > Sports India News

Chautala elected new IOA president

Posted on Dec 06, 10:06AM | IBNS

Abhey Singh Chautala was finally crowned the new president of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) in the election that was guided by the Delhi High Court order and supervised by the three-man election commission headed by retired chief justice Anil Dev Singh. Out of the 183 votes, 167 were cast for the posts that saw voting with eight ballots - three of Indian Hockey Federation, three of Gymnastic Federation of India and two of Haryana Olympic Association - were kept sealed.

The IOA polls are being held under the shadow of the suspension of the Indian body by the International Olympic Council on Tuesday.

Outgoing president V K Malhotra told reporters earlier in the day that they could not have postponed the elections further.

"We were ordered to conduct elections by the Delhi High Court and we had no choice but to conduct them today. We will now report the details to the court and then further course of action will be decided," he added.

The other office bearers who were elected unopposed were general secretary Lalit Bhanot, senior vice-president V.N. Nanawati and treasurer N Ramachandran.

The other office bearers are:

Vice President (8): Dr.Akhilesh Dasgupta, Parminder Singh Dhindsa, AnuragThakur, RK Anand, Tarlochan Singh, Narender Batra, GS Mander and Birender Prasad Baishya.

Joint Secretary (6): 1. Anandeshwar Pandey, 2. Raja K Sidhu, 3. Rakesh Gupta, 4. Kuldip Vats, 5. Rajeev Mehta, 6. S.M Hashmi

IOC members: Narender Batra and N Ramachandran

Executive Council Members: 1. VN Nanabati, 2. Bala Saheb S.Landge, 3.Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, 4. D.R Chaudhuri, 5. Md Mustaque Ahmad, 6. Adhip Das, 7. Rajesh Bhandari, 8. Suresh Sharma, 9.Balbir Singh Kushwaha, 10. Bhupender Singh Bajwa, 11. Ashok Sahota, 12. Col N Kumar, 13. Vagis Pathak, 14. RK Gupta, 15. Namdev S Shirgaonkar, 16. Sahdev Yadav, 17. V.A Shiyad, 18. Rana Gurmet Singh Sodhi, 19. Vikram Singh Sisodia, 20. P.K Pradhan