Home > News > Tamil Nadu News

Prez at Diamond Jubilee of Tamil Nadu Assembly fete

Posted on Dec 01, 11:01AM | UNI

The Diamond Jubilee of the Tamil Nadu Assembly was today celebrated with much fanfare in the presence of President Pranab Mukherjee, Governor Dr K Rosaiah and Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa.

The function lasted 75 minutes, with all the key speakers tracing the birth of the State Assembly and the several historic resolutions passed in the House.

The Diamond Jubilee fete was boycotted by the Opposition DMK alleging that 'due respect was not given to its leader and five time Chief Minister M Karunanidhi', while the Principal Opposition led by DMDK leader and actor Politician Vijayakanth were present along with the members of other parties.

The special event of the celebrations was the honouring of three members of the first Assembly -- R Krishnaswamy Gopalan 1953-57 elected from Pattukottai in Thanjavur, 'Pollachi' N Mahalingam (age 90) elected from Pollachi (1952-57) and another non-agenarian R M Palaniapan (1952-57) elected from Thirumaiyam in Pudukottai district, who defying their age, attended the function.

After the customary welcome address by Speaker P Dhanapal and honouring the dignatories, Ms Jayalalithaa released a special souvenir and the first copy was received by Mr Pranab Mukherjee.

The president later laid the foundation stone for the construction of a new hostel complex for former legislators.