Home > News > More News

A and N Police to conduct City Parade to mark 150 years of policing

Posted on Nov 28, 08:56PM | UNI

To mark 150 years of service to the nation by Indian Police, the A and N Police will be conducting a city parade on December 1, at Port Blair.

" The programme includes a city parade, followed by demonstration of fleet and equipment's of different units, shows of motor cycles, dog squad, fire tenders and folk dances by cultural troupes, " the Director General of A and N Police informed media today.

The DGP said the proposed city parade followed by marching of fleet and cultural programmes and motorcycle shows will be organised in front of Girls School on main road on 1st December, 2012.

" The city parade will start from Fire Brigade Head Quarter, Aberdeen Bazaar and the route will be Fire Brigade, Annapurna Junction, Clock Tower, Y -Narayana Junction, Dharmashala (Dugong Guest House) Junction, Girls School Junction, Girls School (Dias) and R K Mission Junction where the parade will culminate, " he added.

He said a special show will also be organised by Police Entertainment Team at the Netaji Stadium, Port Blair to celebrate the 150th year of the Indian Police.

During the year 1965, the Delhi and Andaman Islands services were established and the District of Andamans was divided into three Sub-Divisions, namely South Andaman, North Andaman and Nicobar Sub-Division.

Today the A and N Police force comprises of the Executive Police, Armed Police, Special Armed Police, Jarawa Protection Force, Police Motor Transport, Police Marine Force, Police Radio, India Reserve Battalion and Fire Service with sub-units such as the Forensic Laboratory, Dog Squad, Commando Unit, Bomb Disposal Squad and Finger Print Cell. Manpower has been diverted to strengthen the Police Stations, Traffic Branch and other essential units.

The UT of the A and N Islands currently has 23 Police Stations, 18 Out Posts, 12 Jarawa Protection Posts, 11 Look Out Posts, 20 Fire Stations, 23 Police Radio Stations and 203 VHF Mobile and Static Stations.

The A and N Police force is today headed by the Director General of Police assisted by 2 IGP, 1 DIGP, 6 SP and 19 Dy.S.P.