Home > News > More News

Curfew imposed in 9 police stations in Srinagar

Posted on Nov 28, 07:47PM | UNI

Indefinite curfew has been imposed in areas falling under nine police stations in the Srinagar city this evening as a precautionary measure, an official spokesman said.

In view of apprehension of clash between two groups, the authorities imposed curfew to maintain law and order.

The district magistrate, Srinagar, has imposed curfew in the police stations falling in the areas of Nowhatta, M R Gunj, Safakadal, Khanyar, Ranawari, Nigeen, Lalbazar, Zadibal and Parimpora with immediate effect till further orders.

Chairman of moderate Hurriyat Conference Mirwaiz Omar Farooq, Moulana Abbas Ansari, Aga Syed Hassan and other leaders have appealed to people to maintain peace.

These leaders also appealed to people to not pay attention to rumours being spread by some people having vested interests.