Home > News > Cricket News

Awards for Sunil Gavaskar, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli

Posted on Nov 22, 09:36PM | UNI

Former India captain and legendary opener Sunil Gavaskar was conferred with BCCI's Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award and Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli were warded for their achievements in international arena during past season at a function here last evening.

Tendulkar was feted for his incredible achievement of scoring 100 international hundreds in Tests and ODIs combined, while Kohli won the 'Polly Umrigar Award' for the being the best Indian cricketer of the 2011-12 season in international cricket.

He was presented with a trophy and a cheque of Rs 5 lakh.

VVS Laxman, who retired before the start of the home rubber against New Zealand in August, was also felicitated for his stupendous achievement in international cricket for past decade and half. He was also adjudged as ICC's 'ODI Cricketer of the Year' earlier.

Earlier, after receiving his award, Tendulkar thanked Gavaskar and called him his inspiration for taking up the game. "We grew up watching you. Thanks for inspiring me to play cricket. All I wanted to do was to follow your footsteps," said Tendulkar addressing Gavaskar sitting in front.

"I was 12 or so and was disappointed as I did not get the 'Best Junior Cricketer' award. I got a letter from Mr Gavaskar saying if you go through that list there is one person who did not get that award and he (Gavaskar) had not done badly in Tests," said Tendulkar.