Home > News > Bollywood News

Cinestar Akshay Kumar inaugurates 43rd IFFI in Goa

Posted on Nov 20, 10:23PM | UNI

Bollywood heartthrob Akshay Kumar today opened the 43rd edition of International Film Festival of India (IFFI), in the presence of Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Manish Tewari and Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, in a grand function held near Kala Academy at Campal.

After the inaugural function, Mr Tewari assured the gathering that government on its part was taking a number of steps to nurture the Indian film industry and to promote the country as a destination for film shooting.

He said that government was embarking on an ambitious National Film Heritage Mission during the 12th Five-year plan to preserve India's film heritage.

Moreover, with a view towards encouraging co-production with other countries, India has entered into co-production agreements with various countries, he added.

The Chief Minister said that the journey which was started by him eight years ago has yielded positive results and Goa has been awarded as a best film destination.

He added that a collective endeavour will be made to take this festival to newer heights and to make it truly international.

Kumar, who was the chief guest of the event, said that cinema is very very important not only for him but for his entire family.

Pitching for good and wholesome cinema, he felt proud that the festival was happening in the centenary year of Indian Cinema.

Renowned Polish filmmaker Krzysztof Zanussi was conferred upon the prestigious 'Lifetime Achievement Award' on the occasion at the hands of Tewari. The award carries an amount of Rs 10 lakh, a scroll, a shawl and a certificate.

Known for producing acclaimed films like 'Camouflage', 'Family Life', 'The Silent Touch' and 'Zanussi', he said that this was the most moving moment of his life that he was being awarded for some achievement and promised to make more films in future.

He said the 21st century will be Asia's Century and it is his deep belief that it will be India's Century.

Gautam Ghosh, chairman of the International Jury, and all the Jury members were felicitated by the IFFI on the occasion.